Green Group Word Sort

Hi all,

This post is for anyone whose child is in the green group for their word work. I realize the sort for this week and next isn’t as straight forward, so I just wanted to give some clarification.

 

All of the words are single vowel words that end in -mp or -ng. We have talked lots (and I hope they are realizing) that when words only have a single vowel, that it typically says its short sound; However, many of their words this week DO NOT say their short sound, even though there is only one vowel. So, for example, song just has one vowel, and o DOES make its short soud; however, words like rang and gang are making the long A sound, even though there is just one vowel.

 

The way I had the kids sort their words yesterday was into groups of short vowel sounds, long vowel sounds (where the vowel says its name) and other. Other means the word’s vowel doesn’t make its long OR short sound. An example of this are words that end in -ing. Sing is not pronounced s-I-ng or s-ing, but rather the -ng control the i to make a totally different sound.

 

So…our sort yesterday looked something like this:

 

Short vowel sounds: camp, song, rung, lump, ramp, etc.

Long vowel sounds: sang, gang, rang, etc.

Other vowel sounds: sing, bring, king, etc.

 

You can also sort the words just by their endings (-mp or -ng), as well as just into 5 groups for the different vowels. What I want the kids to see, though, is that there are exceptions to the rule that words with 1 vowel just say their short sound, and that endings like -mp or -ng can change their sound.

 

I hope this makes sense! Thank you for taking the time to practice with your kids and for those of you who asked, thanks for asking for clarification so you can help your child the best you can! 🙂

 

As always please let me know if you have any questions, or if this still does not make sense, let me know and I can try to explain differently!

 

-Miss Fichtner